About the Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror Films and The Saturn Awards

Dr. Donald A. Reed founded the organization in 1972 to honor, recognize and promote genre entertainment. Towards that end, we screen films, promote film discussion with filmmakers, and annually hold The Saturn Awards.

Recent honorees include: Jeffrey Katzenberg, Leonard Nimoy, Robert Halmi, Jr. and Sr., Guillermo del Toro, Lance Henriksen, Zack Snyder, and Frank Darabont, to name a few. Past honorees include: Steven Spielberg, Sherry Lansing, Tom Rothman, James Cameron, Ray Bradbury, Brian Grazer, Peter Jackson, Rod Serling, Fritz Lang, Roger Corman, & Bryan Singer, to name a few.

The non-profit Academy began screening films around 1975. The organization would invite groups to some of these screenings and they would reciprocate by inviting our members to their screenings. These groups included Artists and Writers Workshop, Shanta & Milan Herzog’s Children’s Fantasy Film Festival, and the Los Angeles Film Teachers’ Association. We currently screen at the Laemmle Monica 4-Plex Theater and the USC Norris Cinema Theater. We have been screening films for over 25 years.

The leaders of the defunct LAFTA have graciously turned over their old website to us. We are happy to utilize it with the eventuality of creating a new website in the near future. Visit our calendar of screenings site: www. theacademyshowsit.com

The organization is comprised of industry professionals, film enthusiasts, and academics. The Academy is open to the public and welcomes anyone who has an interest in film and special events. With the closure of LAFTA (after 38 years), we welcome their ex-members to join the Academy and enjoy film screenings on the weekend as well as special events held throughout the week.